top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLauren Palaganas

Project 2: 500 Word Draft

My entire life, up until now, I have grown up attending private catholic schools. I have grown up being a part of an environment that requires service work, giving back to the community and supporting local charities. Helping others has always been a part of me, and it always will. I knew going into college that I wanted to be a part of a community full of loving and caring people, which is why I decided to join a sorority. At first, I was hesitant because I was only accustomed to small, local fundraisers and service work. I wasn’t used to extravagant philanthropy events that I repeatedly witnessed on social media posted by various sororities. I almost thought it was impossible for a group of girls to be so active in their communities and constantly working towards the overall goal of giving back. Now, however, I am an enthusiastic, proud member of Florida State University’s Gamma Phi chapter of Alpha Phi.

Alpha Phi was one of the first women’s fraternities to institute a Foundation. This foundation was instated to demonstrate the fraternities love and spirit for philanthropy, specifically for cardiac aid. Internationally, The Alpha Phi Foundation raises millions of dollars each year to help support research focused on women’s heart care and raise awareness for women’s heart disease. At Florida State University, we call this philanthropy Women’s Heart Health.

I have never been a part of an organization that is just as ardent about philanthropy as I am, which is why I love doing what I do ten times more. No matter how small or large or international or local a charity event is, it still has a humungous impact on the individuals benefiting from the cause. Also, philanthropic events go beyond just helping charities, it opens up more opportunities to become more involved and educated. The Alpha Phi Foundation has inspired me to develop more leadership experience, supporting those in need and my sisters, improving women’s heart health, form more personal relationships with local charities, and becoming more educated about the true value of philanthropy. Being able to put a smile on people’s faces is something I want to continue to keep doing with my sorority and throughout my life.

One of Alpha Phi’s spring philanthropy events is Heart Race. Heart Race is a 5k across campus that raises money for the Alpha Phi Foundation and the Tallahassee Memorial Heart and Vascular center. Fifty percent of the money goes to the Alpha Phi Foundation and the other fifty percent goes to the Tallahassee Memorial Hospital. As a chapter, every girl will be split up into groups of 3 or 4 to work together on sponsorships and fundraising. Working together in small groups allows every girl to participate and engaged in Heart Race. Our philanthropy differs from other events on campus because we have a direct relationship with the hospital. Also, we have an Alpha Phi Foundation wing at the hospital because we are able to contribute so much towards heart health. Last year, Alpha Phi raised seventeen thousand dollars, so the goal this year is to raise twenty thousand dollars.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog #11: BBG Ch. 10

For this blog post, I will be writing about assembling a multi genre project. A multi genre projection is defined by the BBG as a collection of three of more genre compositions, built around a single

Blog 10

I am really happy with the all around experience while writing project 2. For my topic, I wrote about Heart Race, my sororities spring philanthropy event. As a new member, I still didn't know much abo

Project 2: 2000 word draft

My entire life, up until now, I have grown up attending private catholic schools. I have grown up being a part of an environment that requires service work, giving back to the community and supporting

bottom of page