top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLauren Palaganas

BLOG #6: Consider The Lobster

Although I am not a lover of seafood, I still was saddened by the way losbters' are cooked alive. Growing up as a child, I would visit New Hampshire and Maine with my family during October. My entire family LOVES lobster, except me. With that in mind, my family only took us to restaurants with extraordinary lobster. I found it interesting how lobster used to be considered a low-class food, and now it is compared to being the seafood equivalent of steak. I remember walking into seafood restaurants, they would have tanks full of live lobster, like they were some sort of art display. No one walks into a restaurant and thinks about how they are about to be cooked alive. Instead, your intrigued and fascinated by the lobsters and usually they'll let kids touch or hold them for fun. As I reflect about my memories doing that as a child after reading the article, I now take into account how animals are treated. Looking back at it, I cringe at the fact I used to hold a lobster and rub its stomach to make it fall asleep just so it can be tossed into the kettle death. I think Wallace brought up important points about the treatment of animals while trying not to present it the way PETA would. He does it in a way were it makes you reflect on society as a whole.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog #11: BBG Ch. 10

For this blog post, I will be writing about assembling a multi genre project. A multi genre projection is defined by the BBG as a collection of three of more genre compositions, built around a single

Blog 10

I am really happy with the all around experience while writing project 2. For my topic, I wrote about Heart Race, my sororities spring philanthropy event. As a new member, I still didn't know much abo

Project 2: 2000 word draft

My entire life, up until now, I have grown up attending private catholic schools. I have grown up being a part of an environment that requires service work, giving back to the community and supporting

bottom of page