top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLauren Palaganas

Blog #3: Shitty First Drafts

I find a sense of relief when I read about how Anne Lamott stresses the importance of writing a "shitty first draft." Even the most famous authors known have shitty first drafts and go through many drafts to perfect their work. No one can just simply sit down and write a magical, perfect first draft. After reading this chapter, my entire perspective of writing has changed. In high school, my teachers stressed the importance of having an organized and nearly perfect structured first draft for a grade. We were only given the opportunity to write one draft, and revise it, and receive a grade. Only one shot to gather our thoughts and turn it into something worth reading. It is nearly impossible to write an amazing first draft, it takes trial and error. I like how Lamott mentions how a first draft is basically like a "child's draft". It takes multiple drafts of unorganized sentences, chaos, and sloppiness to form the final product. Not having the pressure to write a perfect first draft makes writing for me so much more enjoyable. Knowing that every writers battles with first drafts is a relief. First drafts are meant for your flowing ideas and visions as they are without worrying about anyone else's eyes reading them. Shitty first drafts are what makes the amazing and creative writings we read today and without them, the final product wouldn't end up nearly as amazing.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog #11: BBG Ch. 10

For this blog post, I will be writing about assembling a multi genre project. A multi genre projection is defined by the BBG as a collection of three of more genre compositions, built around a single

Blog 10

I am really happy with the all around experience while writing project 2. For my topic, I wrote about Heart Race, my sororities spring philanthropy event. As a new member, I still didn't know much abo

Project 2: 2000 word draft

My entire life, up until now, I have grown up attending private catholic schools. I have grown up being a part of an environment that requires service work, giving back to the community and supporting

bottom of page